Just another WordPress.com site

Look Out Below

In last week’s Road Trip post, I asked you what you would do if you were full-time church planter with a no-time salary and you got offered a job at another church. Would you take it? Clark and I were facing this very dilemma, and the encouragement in your responses was life-giving, so thank you.

If you’ve followed this blog at any length, you know we’re just insane enough to follow God’s peace and His presence even if it leads us off the edge of a cliff. As tempting as it was to take a salaried position somewhere else, we leaped another free-fall and gracefully declined the job.

And you’ll never believe what happened next.

Clark and I agreed that I should put some feelers out for voice students and within days, I had six on the books. Six! That’s unheard of. And the day after we turned down the job, we got over $2,000 {that’s two with THREE zeros} in unexpected support. I know that doesn’t always happen. Sometimes you take a leap of faith and the next day your transmission blows, your tax bill arrives, or you realize that the DVD you rented from the library is six weeks overdue and you now own the ABC’s of infant CPR. {That one might have just occurred to us yesterday.}

So, Friday I will begin teaching a string of voice students from 12pm-7pm. I feel a range of emotions being away from my kids that long, but that is Daddy’s day off {sort of} so I can rest assured they will have plenty of quality time {watching Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and Jeff Beck concert DVDs} with him.

I’m off to learn La Roux Bulletproof for one of my new students. Heaven help me. But I leave you with this that I discovered today in my co-working cubby space….

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.– John 1:5 NLT

Have a great weekend everyone!

One response

  1. I love it! God is faithful, and I love it when He shows off like this! You are bright, sister. I’m squinting from here!

    July 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.